Monday, 5 December 2016

2016 Season Wrap Up

The Valkyries wrapped up their 2016 season and put plans in motion for our 2017 at our AGM/Awards Night at the end on November.

To start things off, the Valkyries elected their new executive members to take us into 2017 and beyond. Congratulations to our new members and a special thanks to all of our outgoing members.

After we finished up with the AGM, we moved on to our 2016 Team Awards. Congratulations to LB/OL Denise Kolosky (Green & White Award), LB Beth Thomson (Defensive Player of the Year) and RB Julene Friesen (Offensive Player of the Year).

Green & White Award: Denise Kolosky
Defensive Player of the Year: Beth Thomson
Offensive Player of the Year: Julene Friesen

Along with our Team Awards, we were also able to present some of our student-athletes with Football Saskatchewan scholarships. Congratulations to Aly Bell, Samantha Matheson, Betsy Mawdsley, Jaime Lammerding, Kelsey Murphy, Shay De Jong and Alex Wojcichowsky.

We also took the time to thank some of our volunteers who work tirelessly to make sure that our game days run smoothly. We've said it time and again, and we'll continue to say it, but there's no way we'd be successful on the field, if it weren't for all the help we get off the field. So thanks to all those people who take the time to help us out.

Finally, the Valkyries bid a farewell to a successful 2016 season with the presentation of our 2016 WWCFL Championship rings.